Hello, Beautiful Soul

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that’s holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life. A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake.”  ~Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

That has got to be one of my favorite quotes about soul mates. Soul mates are an incredibly romantic idea. This idea that your soul recognizes the soul of someone else in an instant.

But honestly, I don’t subscribe to the traditional definition of a soul mate. The tradition being that there is only one soul mate out there for you and that when you meet them, you fall in love and get married.

Soul mates are so much more than that.

A soul mate is someone who when you meet them,  you feel your heart and spirit sigh in relief. They are the person that makes you wonder “Where have you been my whole life?” A soul mate is someone that you feel a deep, intimate connection with that you cannot explain. A soul mate is someone who you feel a special bond with, any kind of bond, not just a romantic one.

I have been lucky enough to have met many people who fit that for me. And what makes them so remarkable, are the different kind of bonds, different kind of soul mates, I have found.

I have shared compatibility and love with sweet friends who have brought out the best in me and inspired me to just be myself. I have found romance even when I thought that I would forever be alone and not worth falling for. I have had my sexuality awakened, questioned, and explored when I thought that it was something that was broken inside of me. I have experienced the  deepest, rawest, heart opening form of intimacy with someone who came out of nowhere and shook my soul awake.

Each of them are my soul mate. They looked into my eyes, I knew them and they knew me. They reached deep into me and pulled at my heart strings, forced me to look deep into myself and figure out what was there. And I deeply love every single one of these people, whether they are still heavily involved in my life or not.

The thing about soul mates is that they are a part of you and will continue to be a part of you, no matter where you or they are in life.  They will always be the person you say to, “Hello, beautiful soul.”

4 thoughts on “Hello, Beautiful Soul

  1. I love this idea – that one can have many soul mates. This is a beautiful post, and it’s left me in contemplation over some things I’ve been needing to pour some thought into.. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

